Josh Fante

Josh Fante

“I have seen them stagger out of their movie palaces and blink their empty eyes in the face of reality once more, and stagger home, to read the Times, to find out what’s going on in the world. I have vomited at their newspapers, read their literature, observed their customs, eaten their food, desired their women, gaped at their art. But I am poor, and my name ends with a soft vowel, and they hate me and my father, and my father’s father, and they would have my blood and put me down, but they are old now, dying in the sun and in the hot dust of the road, and I am young and full of hope and love for my country and my times, and when I say Greaser to you it is not my heart that speaks, but the quivering of an old wound, and I am ashamed of the terrible thing I have done.”
― John Fante, Ask the Dust

8 thoughts on “Josh Fante

    • Sorry, my Browser hates WordPress fr some reason. Was trying to put across how amazing this quote was and to let you know I am going read this on your recommendation if I can find a copy. Thank’s for posting.

    • He is on of the most underrated writers of the 20th century. Fante was one of Bukowski’s biggest influences, which is interesting. I was lucky to have randomly picked up “Ask the Dust” one day at a book store. It is a real gem…almost reminds me of magical realism..the way he describes L.A. during the 1930’s is beautiful..I recommend everything by him!

  1. Thanks so much for this, I found a cheap copy on amazon and have been googling him like mad: I can’t believe I never heard of him, especially in reation to Charles Bukowski, it’s been forever since I’ve been struck by such gorgeous, communicative prose. Your blog is amazing on so many levels, cheers again.

  2. Cheers for finding such a lovely book! I find it odd that he isn’t more popular…I suppose he is still largely undiscovered.”Dago Red,” and “Dreams from Bunker Hill” are amazing. His body of work is a treasure trove of brilliantly written stories.. He truly is one of the greatest writers of the 20th century..

Leave a Reply

