Small distractions by Leah Grace O’Brien…revised

I lay in bed amongst the security of large pillows

and books

small termites dance around the lamp on my nightstand

their tobacco wings do not spread out and flutter

in the elegant manner in which a moth carries itself

I ignore them, at first

until one lands on my bare hip

I gaze at it, curious of its nature

then hobble into the kitchen and grab a fly swatter

I put an end to the invasive creatures and all of their friends

now I can heal in peace, wounds and all

Image

Leave a Reply

