Tom Waits- Hold On

I heard this tune for the first time during the summer of 1999. I was on an evening trip with a friend, cruising around town at night, trying to find something to do. This was back when we made mix tapes, which were cool because they were often put together as an ode to an old lover, as was the case with the one we were listening to in the tiny car that summer evening. My friend, who was driving, was possibly the best person I could have met that year. She prevented me from going insane. She is still incredibly funny, charming and friendly. In between eating way too many crab rangoons and drinking on a nightly basis, we had a wild summer. Her boyfriend had moved out, and I had just ended a relationship that spanned nearly five years. I found myself both frightened and euphoric at the idea of being free. Real freedom seemed elusive. I was dealing with much more than just a break up, which brings me to the point of Tom Waits. Ever since I was a teenager, his music has been the background to my life. During the hardest days when many whom I knew did not know the depths in which I struggled, Waits did. I imagine his songs have done the same for many…they seem to transcend time.

14 thoughts on “Tom Waits- Hold On

  1. Absolutely. I was lucky enough to see him four years ago in Jacksonville, and he sang Cold Cold Ground. It was amazing. Martha is a great tune. It is hard to decide which of his songs are my favorites…I oscillate between Heart of Sat Night and San Diego Serenade. Do you have a favorite album of his?

      • You picked a good one… Such a lovely song…..”My head is spinning round, my heart is in my shoes, yeah
        I went and set the Thames on fire, oh, now I must come back down
        She’s laughing in her sleeve boys, I can feel it in my bones
        Oh, but anywhere I’m gonna lay my head, I’m gonna call my home”

        Waits is a poet of the streets…a merchant of love and a strange genius…

Leave a Reply

