Excerpt from “No Shoes” by Leah Grace O’Brien

Mississippi welcomes you…or not

There was a strange comfort in being lost. I felt oddly at peace as I lay down on my side. The night would protect us. It was the morning and its judgment that I feared. The brutal sun would see me for who I was. It would shine its unkind rays down upon my fair face and follow me wherever I went. My safety came only in the elusive night where everything bad fell away and I would be bathed in its glorious darkness. I closed my eyes and fell asleep to the sound of crickets.

Leave a Reply

