My Nook/Book dilemma

Although I bought a Nook last year and find it to be incredibly useful, I am still buying hard cover novels. In the midst of this fractured economy saving money is a must which is why I am perplexed at my own spending habits. While the Nook is expensive in the short term, books cost very little to upload. I have hundreds of books I have purchased using gift cards and my own hard earned cash yet I find myself unable to turn away a used book from Haslam’s or any other small bookstore. I can walk away from shoes and purses but cannot put down a giant copy of anything by Nietzsche. Since I am saving a lot of money using my Nook why am I still purchasing books from the bookstore? They pile up all over the house and I don’t have enough bookshelves to fit them all. I have hundreds of books stored away up in my folks attic in Maine.I can imagine how musty they have become after all these years. I have abandoned them and feel guilty because most of them have been replaced by my Nook. I have come to the conclusion that I must make a choice between the Nook and books. It makes no sense to keep buying books when I can purchase them for a fraction of the cost using this small device that makes my life easier.Perhaps I am old fashioned and refuse to conform to modern times. I bake bread from scratch and make my own jam. I have a closet full of old threads from the 1930s and I love an old fashioned sewing machine.Yet I am currently typing away on my Mac. I guess I am caught between two worlds and haven’t found which one I am more comfortable living in. Is it possible to coexist in both? I suppose I should embrace my Nook and leave the books behind for now. It certainly makes traveling much easier!

4 thoughts on “My Nook/Book dilemma

  1. I believe that you should co exist in the old way (or the past) and the new way (or the present). You sound like a book lover so although you have a nook you still love to open up a worn paper back or hard cover. Being a writer who publishes in both forms, I embrace readers who like book forms of the book.
    Shameless plug My book Happy Face is available for the Nook at http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/christopher-reel you can check chapters of the book and other works by me (I’m also a cartoonist) on my blog at http://www.christopherreel.wordpress.com
    One more thing, I really like your blog and am now a fan.

    • Christoper,

      Thanks for the link. I will definitely check out the book!. How long have you been writing? I do love my Nook as well as my old books. I thought about having a yard sale but I chose not to. I think you are right, it is possible to exist in both worlds. If we forget about everything that is old we lose something important. I appreciate you checking out my blog. I have a lulu.com account and I am currently working on my fist book which includes poems and short stories.

Leave a Reply

