On the Road

It will be interesting to see if Walter Salles can evoke the same feelings with an audience the way Kerouac could with his beloved novel. I find myself a bit anxious when Hollywood decides to do a film adaptation of a classic novel such as On the Road. John Fante’s Ask the Dust was made into a film back in 2006 and was thoroughly disappointing. Walter Salles is a very talented director and did a lovely job directing The Motorcycle Diaries. I hope he is able to do something extraordinary with this film.

2 thoughts on “On the Road

  1. I totally agree. Although I liked the Motorcycle Diaries… The essence of Beat according to Kerouac was the one shot/improvisation angle… I doubt Hollywood will get adventurous on that one… Hopefully it will work…

  2. I am hopeful but a bit skeptical. It will be interesting to see how he chooses to film it. I am not too familiar with any of the actors and their work. I would be terrified as an actor to partake in any of those roles!

Leave a Reply

